Trio #3 A Dark night, Ice Cream and Tears

From WordPress http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/trio-no-three/

Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must mention a dark night, your fridge, and tears (of joy or sadness; your call).

The evening is quickly turning into a dark night

watching game seven of the World Series

It is down to the last out for the Royals with a runner on third

Salvador Perez pops out to third baseman Pablo Sandoval in foul territory

And just like that The Giants are World Champions

I think back to the Dodgers season and what could have been….

I cannot watch the celebration so I turn the TV off  and head to the fridge

Would a bowl of ice cream make me feel any better?

It does while I am eating it but then the sadness takes over.

The baseball season is really over

A knot builds on my throat and I cannot hold back the tears.

I feel like this tree I pass by in the fall missing its leaves

Tree fall

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. ngobesingromanus

    How hard it can be to lose. It reminds me of the times when my team has lost a crucial match. Yet live always continues. Next time could be our turn. As Barack Obama once said, ‘Sometimes we win; sometimes we lose.’Hope to read from you again soon.

  2. crzblue

    Thanks for commenting ngobesingromanus, Yes, Dodger fans are used to hearing since their days in Brooklyn “Wait till next year” And like a poem says “Hope Springs Eternal”

  3. Terese

    What’s a nice little Giants fan like me doing on a dyed in the wool Dodger Blog like this…. Well, I stumbled on your blog a while ago and while we may come from polar opposites in our taste in teams our love of baseball is a common thread. Your insights, observations and love of this (the best game in the world) are varied, always interesting and I learn so much. Thank you for sharing, you get to travel and explore so much of our games history, it’s characters, it’s legacies and even it’s future. While I enjoy the incredible ride my beloved boys have taken me on, I know how humbling this game is. The Dodgers are too good, have such deep pockets and a commitment to winning that means a parade is inevitable for them soon. While yes, I’m enjoying the afterglow, the chill in the air means an emptiness to the days that all of us fans know and dread. Your stark picture of the bare tree is very appropriate…. I myself seem to feel it most keenly around the holidays for some reason. Maybe I need the comfort and distraction of the game as a respite from the hustle and bustle of the season? Whatever the reason, it’s a feeling I don’t like, but blogs like yours are something to look forward to and help make the passing of time not so slow☺️

  4. crzblue

    Oh wow! That is so nice of you Terese! You said it so well! Thank you! BTW, congratulations to your Giants. They got hot when it counted! Hopefully we make it competitive next year between the Dodgers and Giants.

  5. Pingback: Acrostic Poem / Poetry – “Left Logically Yet Rightly Creative” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

