Current Dodgers home trip and Road trip to see the Dodgers at Minnesota!

In this current homestand, the Dodgers are 1-5.  Terrible homestand so far.  They got swept by the Reds and they were on the verge of being swept by the Astros!  Imagine that!  The Astros who have the worst record in baseball.   They avoided the sweep by winning 1-0 on Sunday.    We tried going to play catch on the field after the game but the lines to get to the stadium were huge so we left. 

Now Dodgers start inter-league with the Detroit Tigers, then the Angels come to town.  I believe Kristen from http://mlblogsblithescribe.wordpress.com/ will come to Dodger Stadium for one of those games.  I hope to meet her.   I will miss the game on Sunday since  my friend LuvtheDodgers23 and I will take the red eye on Saturday night.   Saturday is Photo Day at Dodger Stadium.   

But first The Tigers are in town.   Tonight Bill Slayback will sing the National Anthem and God Bless America.  I talked to Bill during one of the SABR www.sabr.com meetings where he was a speaker.  He said he was a little nervous to sing at Dodger Stadium and that he might change his mind.  I hope he did not.  I am looking forward to hearing him sing.  Bill Slayback autographed 8x10 Photo (Detroit Tigers)

From http://www.atlantatimemachine.com/misc/records.htm 

 In late 1973, as Hank Aaron was closing in on Babe Ruth’s home run record, Detroit Tigers pitcher Bill Slayback released this tribute to Hammering Hank.   Slayback wrote the music and the lyrics were penned by legendary Tigers announcer Ernie Harwell, a one-time Atlantan who, in the 1940s, had announced Atlanta Crackers games on WSB radio.

Wednesday is another Throwback weekday game.   Sadly I won’t be making this one.  My boss is on vacation so I’ll listen to the game while working.   I’ll miss the throwback uniforms that the Tigers will wear but I’ll catch the wonderful pictures that Jon SooHoo or Juan OCampo take at http://dodgersphotog.mlblogs.com/

So Saturday night we head to Minnesota to watch the Dodgers!  Hope they can beat the Twins.   We are excited about the trip.  I also want to go see the statue from the Mary Tyler Moore Show.  I want to go there and take a picture while I also toss my hat.  I don’t have a hat like in the picture but I’ll toss my Dodger hat or this blue hat that LuvtheDodgers23 got me!   I know…a lot of fans of that show have done that but I want to do it too!   

I just learned that the type of hat that Mary Tyler Moore used is called a Tam or a Tammy.  From wikipedia:A Tam o’ Shanter (often abbreviated Tam or TOS) is a Scottish style hat originally worn by men. The hat is named after a character in a poem written by Robert Burns in 1790.

I hope to meet Randy from http://heirloom.mlblogs.com/ in Minnesota.  

Let’s go Dodgers!   Let’s Go!!!

Now I got that theme song from the Mary Tyler Moore show in my head   “Who can turn the world on with her smile?…..

13 comments

  1. This is a very simple game...

    Yes, I will be at the Saturday game and am looking foward to it. I have a lot of fond memories of Dodger stadium from childhood and it’s always good to go back…odd to go back in red, but I manage. 😉 Where do you sit? I’ll come by and say hello.
    — Kristen

  2. Emma

    Kristen, I have season tix in the Top Deck. aisle 3, row R(last row) seats 11&12. During BP, I am in the field level aisle 13, first row then I make my trip up. Where are you sitting? I can go see you too.

  3. Emma

    I’ll look for you there or you can come up. Like I say, I start from the Field level for BP…..OH wait!! is Photo Day so I’ll be on the field taking pictures. Still, I’ll go see you.
    .
    What a performance by Clayton Kershaw yesterday!

  4. wolfwatcher

    Emma, my sis and I were up on Top Deck last night and saw you on the jumbotron handing out All Star Ballots! LOL…we were all HEY! EMMA! And you could hear people here and there saying the same thing. You’re famous!
    Nice win last night, too!

  5. Emma

    WW, LOL. Were you and your sis sitting in aisle 3? Very nice win the last three. BTW, those were the ballots I had filled in to vote for Kemp & Ethier. Kemp’s dad and uncle gave me the thumbs up sign when they saw how many I had done.

  6. Rants, Raves, etc.

    A Minnesota road trip for you – cool! Take lots of pictures to share with us. My hubby and I have been to 21 of the 30 major league stadiums, but that is not one of them, so I’ll travel vicariously through you. 🙂
    Sue

  7. Emma

    Wow Sue! that is a lot of major league stadiums and I know you have been to a few minor league parks too. I am not close to you guys. I need to take a serious road trip where I cover a few during one trip. Yes, there will plenty of pictures from both of us.
    .
    Catherine,
    Well, if you go see your team, I would think it would be OK to boo…NO, wait a minute…just root root for your team 🙂
    .

  8. Emma

    Jenn,
    Thanks! I’ve been to Toronto. I caught the Red Sox there while I was sent there from work to take a classs so it was work by day and baseball at night. Have a great time in Toronto!

  9. WrigleyRegular

    Have a good trip to Minn. I watched some of the game last night, those blue jerseys kept throwing me off. I was thinking I was watching the Blue Jays

Leave a comment